mamata banerjee election seat


West Bengal Election Result 2021 | Nandigram Assembly Constituency: Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and Suvendu Adhikari

Trinamool Congress chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has defeated the her former aide-turned rival Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram assembly constituency. The results were declared on May, when the Election Commission had scheduled the counting of votes in West Bengal.

The battle in Nandigram was considered to a cliffhanger, with Adhikari leading during the initial round of counting, followed by Banerjee reversing the trends by noon. Before the final round of vote count, Adhikari regained a lead of six votes. After the last round was completed, the TMC supremo was declared the winner with a margin of over 1,200 votes.

Across the state, the Trinamool has taken a lead on 202 constituencies out of 284 whose trends have emerged. The BJP is a distant second with leads on 77 seats, and the Congress was ahead in one constituency.

Follow our LIVE blog for the latest updates of the 2021 Bengal assembly election result

Adhikari had won the Nandigram seat in 2016 on a Trinamool ticket. But the constituency has been held by Banerjee’s party since 2009.

Banerjee opted to take the fight to the Opposition camp by contesting from Nandigram, and not contesting from her ‘safe’ Bhabanipur seat. During the campaign, Adhikari had attacked the chief minister calling her an “outsider” to the area. The constituency was once a Left stronghold.

Banerjee’s TMC has been fighting to keep the BJP’s surge at bay. The saffron party has shown a dramatic electoral rise in the state over the last few years.

Counting of votes for the assembly polls is also underway across Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

West Bengal election result LIVE: TMC leads in 213, Mamata in Nandigram


Type address separated by commas

Your Email:

Nandigram election results 2021 LIVE: Mamata Banerjee Election Results Live News, Nandigram Election Results Live Coverage, Mamata Banerjee Election Seat Live News


Suvendu Adhikari vs Mamata Banerjee in Nandigram

Nandigram Election Results 2021 Live, Mamata Banerjee Election Seat, Results Live Coverage: In West Bengal, Nandigram, TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee has won the assembly seat by 1200 votes. She defeated her BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari. Earlier in the day, when the counting started, BJP’s Adhikari was leading in the seat by more than 8000 votes.

The Nandigram assembly constituency was the biggest battleground where sitting chief minister Mamata Banerjee challenged her former cabinet colleague and now BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari.

Also Read | West Bengal Election Results 2021 LIVE

LIVE Updates –

04:33- Mamata wins

04:30: Mamata is ahead of Adhikari now.

04:00: Mamata Banerjee is now leading by more than 4,000 votes.

03:30: Mamata again leading by more than 8,000 votes.

02:50: Former UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav congratulated Mamata Banerjee for TMC’s performance in Bengal.

02:30: Suvendu Adhikari leading now again.

02:15: Election Commission orders registration of FIR over celebratory congregations in anticipation of poll victory.

02:00: Mamata Banerjee is still leading.

01:45: Clear edge for TMC Supremo Mamata Banerjee to form govt in state for consecutively three times.

01:20: Celebration underway in Kolkata by TMC supporters after party crossed 200 marks in initial trend.

01:00: TMC supremo leading now by more than 1500 votes

12:45: Celebrations begin among TMC supporters in Kolkata.

12:30: According to ECI trend, Suvendu Adhikari, BJP candidate from Nandigram continues to lead from the Assembly constituency.

12:15: As per trend shown on ABP Ananda, TMC successfully crossed two-thirds majority mark in West Bengal to form govt.

12:00: As per latest reports, the vote margin between both BJP and TMC has reduced. Now, BJP is leading the seat by more than 3686 votes, reports ABP Ananda.

11:45: As per trend, TMC has crossed the majority figure to form government in the state for the third time. However, final counting is underway.

11:25: Fourth round counting underway.

11:15: Adhikari secured 23495 EVM votes so far while Banerjee secured 15,294 votes. Counting is still underway

11:00: Adhikari leading by more than 8,206 votes, reports ABP Ananda.

10:45: Fourth round counting underway

10:30: Another 13 rounds of counting will take place in Nandigram, before the final result is announced.

10:25: Fourth round counting begins.

10:10: Adhikari leading by more than 8,200 votes, reports ABP Ananda.

10:08: Three rounds votes counting still underway.

10:07: A total of 17 rounds votes will be counted.

10:04: BJP candidate Suvendu Adhikari is leading from the seat by more than 4,500 votes.

The Nandigram assembly constituency comes under Purba Medinipur district, which is considered as the bastion of the Adhikari family. Nandigram has a special place in West Bengal’s politics. It was the place where Mamata Banerjee launched her biggest political movement against the Left government in 2007. Suvendu Adhikari was her lieutenant in the movement. He himself has said that it was he who made that movement successful. The Nandigram movement was the beginning of the rise of Trinamool Congress in West Bengal. Mamata came to power in 2011.

While the Left too has fielded its candidate Minakshi Mukherjee in Nandigram, the fight is expected to be between Mamata and Suvendu. Suvendu Adhikari is a sitting MLA from Nandigram. He won this assembly seat in 2016 on TMC ticket. In that election, Ashikari defeated CPI’s Abdul Kabir Sekh by over 80,000 votes. Adhikari garnered 67.20 per cent votes while the Left leader had to settle with just 26.70 per cent votes. Before Adhikari, this seat was won by Firoja Bibi, who had also emerged victorious in 2009 byelection. In 2011, Bibi had trounced CPI’s Paramananda Bharati by over 40,000 votes.

The Nandigram assembly seat falls under the Tamluk Lok Sabha constituency, which is currently held by Dibyendu Adhikari — the younger brother of Suvendu Adhikari. Nandigram is the biggest prestige battle for Mamata and Suvendu. Both the leaders are confident of winning the seat but pollsters say the fight is very close and either side can win the battle. Suvendu was earlier with the TMC but he left the party just months before the election. He joined the BJP last December.